A Day In The Life

By Irish59

My Right Foot

Meet Daniel, the Bluejay, I first met a couple of weeks ago. I’ve tried several times to capture a photo but failed, until today. He’s named after actor Daniel Day-Lewis who played the remarkable Christy Brown in the movie My Left Foot from 1989. Did you see it? I’ve only seen it once but it was so moving and inspiring that it’s stayed with me all these years later. I really need to check out Christy’s poetry • Anyway, please note Daniel’s right foot. You’ll see that it hangs loosely from his body as he’s only able to perch with his left foot. He flies normally but his takeoffs and landings are a bit skewed. Daniel tends to rely heavily on his wings to maintain his balance. I see him most days grabbing peanuts along with the other jays however his method to open them remains a mystery • His will to survive and persevere despite obstacles is something I admire, just like Christy Brown • Have a peaceful and joyful Sunday evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.