Plums fossilised

Walking round the river path today we went to inspect the community orchard. The apple trees are showing a tiny bit of movement, there was one forlorn lone leaf left on the Tam Montgomery but the best of the bunch was definitely the Victoria Plum tree with a few left over fruits. I don't know why the birds didn't have these in the autumn but I'm glad they left them for me to blip. Quite revolting, but fascinating too.

The weather is so much milder. All the ice has gone. It's windy and cloudy but not bad at all for January. I'm heading out into the garden. Last week a huge builder's bag of top quality bark chippings was delivered. It was my Christmas present from Cameraman and as part of the deal he very kindly wheelbarrowed it from the front garden, where it was left by the delivery chap, to the back. There are now piles of bark chippings to be spread. I wanted to wait till the ground unfroze, which I think it has done. I need to get it spread to try to deter the pernicious weeds. That's the idea anyway. I also have a bin of home made compost to spread elsewhere in the garden but that can wait.

Otherwise I have some admin to do which will occupy me for an hour ot two. This includes a community council online meeting to refocus our minds, activities and priorities after what feels like a long break.

The five year old starts home school today. I can't imagine how it will go. I hope I'm able to help out a bit once she's got the hang of it. She is fortunate in having space, technology, data allowance, supportive parents and the personal attributes which will enable her to do as well as possible in the circumstances. She will really miss her friends though.

Many thanks to Marlieske for the derelict challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.