Mill

Having had a completely unproductive day yesterday, I had a plan for today as I have a list of things that need to be done.  However when I got up and checked my phone I had the wind rather taken out of my sails, which left me in another state of not being able to focus on anything.  The father in law of one of my oldest friends died of COVID overnight.  It is thought he caught it on Christmas day which he spent with family, who have also all tested positive.  This was the only time he and his wife left their house.  His wife has also tested positive.  My friend’s husband is now with her and no doubt he will catch it too.  Such a tragic situation.  The CMO messaging about assuming you have COVID  is spot on.
After that sombre start to the day, it took me a while to get going.  TT ran and went to virtual church, I eventually baked some fruit bites and cooked another recipe from my new Nigella cook book.  It smells good, but is for tea tomorrow, so should mature and mellow nicely. I finished my e-short story by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.  I’ve not read anything by her before, but I may now seek out her books, or at least add her to my list.
We have had a thaw, so the ice has mostly disappeared, so later I walked. The ice had mostly gone, apart from a few stubborn spots.  The downside of the thaw is that the mud has reappeared. No one joined me as TT was marking and BB was still in his pjs.  I needed the time to clear my head of this morning’s sad news.  When I got home TT was cooking tea.  Later we chatted to TT’s mum.  Her second dose of vaccine has been put back to March.  It should have been this week.  Later I watched The Crown and then went to bed a little too late.
This mill is on the river in the centre of town.  It’s an early 19th century, 4-storey industrial, large grain mill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.