pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

The Wobble of the Befuddled

I think I’m through a bit of a wobble.

It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep can do for you isn’t it? I even picked up a book and read a few pages with my brew this morning! That is a habit I definitely intend to carry on with as I bid to retrain my brain to focus on something for more than five seconds at a time. At least I know now where Matilda gets her pinball machine of a brain from – I’ll apologise and make it up to her at some point, I promise.

Sunshine and blue skies making a reappearance definitely helped the cause as I once again broke with routine and ran a slightly different, extended route. Slightly. Did I feel like I was going to puke my guts up and die a horrible death half way round? Yes, of course I did, but I carried on regardless and wound up the shiny, happy person you see here with Joy Division’s ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’ pounding in my ears.

On listening to a few radio interviews, I think I may have inadvertently been one of Hat Mancock’s “rules-flexers” yesterday on my sojurn to Lancaster. Despite the fact that social distancing was observed at all times, I apologise profusely and rest assured, I will be self-flagellating later accompanied by what Eddie Izzard once called “Five hail Mary’s and two Hello Dolly’s”.

In my defence, it could have been worse and I could have instead been instrumental in setting exercise rules which are open to interpretation, only then to undertake some exercise myself (perhaps a bike ride?) which further highlights the ambiguity of my own messaging and raises additional doubts in the minds of a nation already cheesed off and thoroughly befuddled.

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.