Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunshine in a vase

Last night at our zoom camera club meeting we had a presentation by a photographer on the composition of landscapes, and he obviously showed us many of his images - he has been fortunate enough to travel extensively and it made me long to travel again. He has visited so many American national parks, and some I had never seen before, like Coyote Buttes which is spectacularly beautiful. I felt like I had been on a virtual trip of the most beautiful places in the world, despite being in lockdown! He also spoke about his preference for portrait format images to be in the crop of 4 :3 rather than the standard 6 :4, so this image today is in the crop of 4 : 3 and I do rather like this size.

This morning I tried a gym workout recommended to me by Meriel - following along by watching the video on Youtube is fun but I had to keep stopping it as I did not always get the steps the first time. I am sure after a few sessions it will be easy to keep up the pace of the exercises.

The woods were so much quieter today, it's a relief after the busy period over Christmas when you could not get a parking and there were so many people everywhere. Cars were dangerously parked up and down the roads leading into the woods - today it was back to normal again which was good to see. 

At lunchtime today I had a zoom tutorial organised through the RPS on learning about textures and layers in Photoshop. There were only 8 of us and it was a hands on session so I learnt so much, as we practiced the techniques as she was explaining what to do. It is one of a series of three sessions, and we learnt how to make our own texture backgrounds as well as using images of textures. Inspired by that I have used a light texture over this image of my daffodils.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.