a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Bejewelled

Tiny Tuesday: Bejewelled

It was Cathy's birthday last week and her flowers are holding up well.  I popped one of her roses out into the garden this morning for 15 minutes and then popped out with the macro lens and the tripod to take this shot.  It was refreshing to be able to take something with colour today as it has been particularly dull and wet.

I went on a longish walk on my own this afternoon, in the drizzle, to explore some of the local footpaths that I've not walked before.  There were one or two really nice bits, but there was also an awful lot of mud.  At one stage I was really very glad I'd decided against bringing the Nikon with me, as I nearly toppled over on my side when a boot got stuck in an particularly boggy bit.  Fortunately I managed to stay upright - just.

I made it up to the top of the hill fort at Stantonbury, which is being used for pheasant rearing at present.  Fortunately there was no gamekeeper around to give me my marching orders.  I was watching the pheasants feed from the various feeding stations, standing at the edge of the canopy of trees when a buzzard flew across the clearing only about 15 feet away from me.  That was when I wished I had brought the Nikon and a decent lens, although I suspect I would have missed the opportunity which lasted seconds only.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.