a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Smokin'....

Wide Wednesday: Sky

With the forecast today taking a picture of the sky was never going to be that rewarding.  So here is the best that I could manage in very trying circumstances.  As you can tell, it is flash assisted.  There is as much sky in this as I could manage - it had actually stopped raining for a bit at this point but its windy and there's more rain on the way.

I came across this burnt out vehicle yesterday and popped back out today to take a shot of it before it gets tidied away.  It has been dumped and torched in a field entrance on a minor single track country road.  Once upon a time this sort of thing was much more common around here, but I imagine that over the years the excitement of stealing a car and then torching it became outweighed by the other entertainments on offer.  Possibly cars also became harder to steal?  

Perhaps with the country in lockdown this sort of illicit behaviour is more of a thrill, given that so many legal outlets for letting off steam are now forbidden.

I feel a bit sorry for the poor Ford Ka (I'm pretty sure that this is what it is).  We bought an old Ford Ka to help the kids learn to drive back in the day. Whenever I see a silver one I think back to those days.  Cathy in particular served a long stretch of time sitting in the passenger seat of the Ka next to our children helping them with their driving practice.  I am afraid that of the two of us she was by far the most patient and (most importantly) was much calmer in that role.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.