Marmalade

My mum wrote this recipe out for me in 1970 when Mr C and I returned from Hong Kong. It’s nice to have recipes in her own writing. She bought a jam pan for my Christmas but it is a lovely red Le Creuset one and is too heavy for me to lift now. The rind is in the pan to soak overnight and tomorrow I’ll make it. I haven’t made any since the 70s so hopefully it will work out. We don’t eat jam but we do like the occasional bit of granary with marmalade - I used to get it at street fairs etc.

Book Group 2 was a good zoom meeting this morning. Our book was Jon McGregor’s “If Nobody Speaks of Remarkable Things”. It got a mixed response which is the best type of book as it affords a good discussion. I enjoyed it and would recommend it. It’s a bit different.

Ella and Nathaniel had a better day with Maths as daughter had a free lesson from her work so was able to spent time to help/encourage them. Nathaniel read me some of Gangsta Granny but kept getting the giggles.

Snow is forecast. It’s certainly cold and the sky is leaden.

Recovering Covid patients are going to have to go hotels and relatives have to help look after them. And it’s at least 2 weeks till the peak. Not even 3 million vaccinations have been done yet and the government spokesperson couldn’t say when more vaccines would arrive in UK. What a shambles. The over 80s due to get vaccinated at the Centre for Life in Newcastle were queuing at the door in wheelchairs and zimmers in the perishing weather.

A friend in Cornwall says her closest friend is now in Truro Hospital with Covid. She tested positive 10 days ago then became very ill yesterday. She has no idea how she got it as she’s not been seeing people. Be careful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.