Puncherton walk

We met Marion and Steve at Clennell. They were interested in seeing the hill fort and doing a decent hill walk. Last week we had aimed to do this with Katy and Colin but they wanted to bail out because of the high wind so we didn’t make it as far as we’d hoped. Marion and Steve are made of sterner stuff and didn’t mind the rough walking in high wind so this time we made it. They did remark it seemed a lot further than 6.2 miles but some was without a path and we had several steep climbs which made it take longer than the coastal walks they are used to. It was great to be in such a wild place among the hills. The blip is our descent to the forestry road.

A hot bath was in order when I got back. Just over 26 miles this week - Already I’m through Truro on my virtual walk to John O Groats. I know once we get off in the van it will be hard to get in the miles so I want to prepare for that.

I read a very moving piece in the Guardian today by Rory Kinnear about having his disabled sister’s funeral on the day of the Downing Street party. Now the PM is ‘isolating’ for a week because allegedly some family members have Covid. Cynical me thinks the party chiefs want to keep him
out of the public eye, hoping the furore about the party will die down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.