Photos from 40 years ago, January: The Cantilever

I've got to the age where my photos go back decades. I really ought to do something about digitising the best to create more space in the cupboards where currently 5000 or more slides repose as well as several albums of negatives. It's one of those tasks I'm beginning to wonder if I'll ever get around to.

I can't settle on a method a) for doing the scanning and b) for recording the information about each photo. I've tried slide and negative scanners and an ordinary scanner. I've looked at Pixl Latr. I can't make up my mind.

In the meantime, while I procrastinate, I've decided to take a look back 40 years to 1981 and post a significant image from each month.

The Cantilever is a well known feature on the Glyders range in North Wales. We were up in Snowdonia with a group of boys from Oakwood Park Grammar school staying at the Kent Mountain Centre in Llanberis. 

This was an annual trip, I was fortunate to go several times and to take pupils from Wrotham School in later years. This however, was the best ever January weather with clear blue skies for the whole week. The mountains were at their best giving an experience never since repeated. 

On this day we'd scrambled up the north face of Tryfan (note my name) down to Bwlch Tryfan and up the Bristly Ridge onto the Glyders and down the /devil's Kitchen to Cwm Idwal. A grand day in the mountains.

More to come in February

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.