Tiny Tuesday ....

... The Dachshund. 

I recently came across a wonderful poem (poem to follow) that I know my canine friend Mabel would like.   Since I don't have a Dachshund figurine this tiny yellow dog figurine will have to do instead.  Thank you, Lois, for hosting TT all this month.

I've had this figurine for many, many years.  So many years in fact I don't recall when I got it or where it came from.  I do know that it's one of a family of dogs figurines that I have.  Maybe I'll blip them all together some time.  

So now the poem ....

The Dachshund - by Edward Anthony
 
Because I waddle when I walk,
Should this give rise to silly talk
That I'm ungainly? What's ungainly?
I'm really rather graceful - mainly.
The experts have been known to state
That there's a twinkle in our gait.
One said "They have a clumsy grace,"
Which after all is no disgrace.
My funny features may abound:
Short legs, long body, low-to-ground,
But I'm about the perfect pal
For man or woman, boy or gal.
I'm gentle, very playful, kind,
I housebreak fast 'cause I'm refined,
I'm smart but never sly or foxy -
No, do not underrate the dachsie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.