Flood and Oasis

First the pestilence then the flood.
I forced myself out into the rain and gloom this morning only because I feared for the alternative of snow which is forecast to come tomorrow to rob me of yet another freedom.
I am becoming more and more unfit as the months pass. Much as I hate having to go to the gym, it is only that particular torture that keeps me mobile and able to fit into my pre covid clothes. Walking endlessly around the marches only serves to give me an appetite- nothing else.

The Meadows are awash with mud and water. Should it ice over, we’ll be able to skate on it soon.

I had another outside jaunt in the afternoon when I thought to go to the cheese merchant Mellis in Victoria street to see if I could buy the Orkney cheese ‘Westray Wife’. I should have realised there was little chance of it being open given the quietness of the street as I approached and I was proved right. No shops were open in its entire length.
If the promised snow doesn’t appear overnight, I’ll try the Morningside branch tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.