Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Knitted Baby Garments

This morning, before I did anything, I looked at three YouTube videos and learnt how to do “mattress” stitch. It is very fiddly and time consuming and I wondered if it was worth the effort. I sewed together one hat using mattress stich and another sewing it the way I normally do. It is definitely worth the effort and hopefully I will get quicker as I will improve with practise. 
 
Today’s picture is of some garments and hats, which have taken almost all day to add the straps and buttons and sew them together. There are two pinafore dresses, two hats and a romper. I have enough yarn to make one small hat, which will go with the smaller of the two dresses. The other, larger size dress will have to have a plain hat in one of the colours to match the dress. I might do these hats tomorrow, then all the garments can all be washed, blocked, labelled and packed ready for use.

It has rained heavily all day with the temperature rising to only three degrees Celsius at GMT noon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.