Woodland Wonderland

The snow came less than a week ago and then completely disappeared, only to arrive all over again, in even greater quantities today. It never stopped falling from first to last light. This batch was wetter than the last, which allowed it to better stick to the trees but also to turn more easily to slush where the paths were already saturated. Underfoot conditions on the moor were rather desperate in places so I spent most of my time exploring the woodlands to the south of the town, following little-used paths and meeting very few people.

One person I did bump into was Muddyshoes, which is always a delight. I was able to tell her a rather wonderful story concerning her son, who lives in Sweden. A couple of days ago I was cycling up the Ventoux, in France, as one can do these days, when a cyclist designated by a Swedish flag sped past. He had a distinctive English name that I immediately recognised. So there's me on a turbo in Yorkshire, H on a turbo in Sweden, and we pass each other on a mountain in France. How cool is that? What are the chances?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.