Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Madera Canyon - Day Two

(Staycation backblip #2)

It was a less active day than yesterday. I decided to extend my stay for 2-3 days so I had to run home to pick up more medication. I had come with plenty of food, water and clothes.  This is really the only place in my world where I am completely stable, no signs of mania or depression at all.

Once again, I saw more wildlife than I photographed, which was just fine with me. More deer, a coatimundi family, a Red-naped sapsucker, Audubon Yellow-rumped warbler, Greater roadrunner, and a Bridled titmouse which absolutely refused to be photographed.

It was warmer today than yesterday, especially in the sun (48°/9°), but the nights have been well below freezing. I've been keeping the casita warm until I go to bed. Then I turn off the heat. Breathing with the dryness it causes is difficult. Boy, is it cold in the morning!

Later in the day, I struck up a conversation with a woman new to the area. She had lived in Donner Pass but wanted to move someplace a little warmer. She knew nothing of Green Valley but chose it because of it's proximity to Madera Canyon. She, like me, would live here if we could.  I had an extra 'Birds of Southeastern Arizona' book, which is kind of my bird bible, so I gave it to her.

As I was sitting down to eat dinner, I looked out the picture window that overlooks (bone dry) Madera creek. Sometimes the best picture is the last one of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.