Not a female sparrow

I had so much work to get through today that I outsourced my blipping to Mr hazelh. He photographed this bird beside the Water of Leith. Is it a female sparrow? Please let me know. If I am wrong. Then I can edit this text and the title of my blip. I emailed the photo to Jack, and he tells me that it is a wren.

While Mr hazelh enjoyed his life of leisure, I fielded email, joined a couple of meetings, commented on the draft work of three PhD students, and found out that a colleague who used to be associated with my research group is leaving the university. I also engaged in one of those classic online dialogues that are pervasive in big bureaucratic organisations:

Central administrative department: Hello professor, please fill in this form..
Me: Oh, I don't think this is relevant/necessary. For nine years we have been doing xyz and have never had to fill in that form. What purpose would a completed form serve?
CAD: It's needs to be filled in, signed by you,  and submitted - but do let me know if I can help in any way.
Me: OK, if it really needs to be done, then so be it - and thanks for the offer of help. If you could send over the form with the fields already populated as you require, I'll add my signature and submit it.
CAD: Sorry, I cannot offer any further assistance.

This evening we watched the last episode of The serpent. Although it is a really dark series, I am glad that we stuck with it. The last two episodes were particularly good.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.