SILLY SATURDAY - NEW SPRING COLOURS

Hello Lovely Blippers,

If you thought Mrs. HCB had been sitting twiddling her thumbs, you would be mistaken. 

She has been knitting me a new outfit and because she had some spare green and yellow wool, after knitting fingerless gloves for some of the Wiltshire Air Ambulance medics - she decided these would be my new colours for the Spring. 

I know that Mr. and Mrs. HCB were very grateful to this wonderful organisation over 30 years ago when their younger son was involved in a serious road accident many miles from any hospital. Fortunately, the Wiltshire Air Ambulance was called and they flew took him to the Princess Margaret Hospital, where he spent several weeks recovering from his injuries. 

So I’m happy to be wearing my new outfit - and although I may look silly, I know it’s for a very good cause and I also know that Mr. and Mrs. HCB support the Wiltshire Air Ambulance, so I don’t really mind.  And if you are wondering what Tiny is doing, he wanted to be in on the act, so I had to make a stretcher so that he could lie down on it! 

The truth is that none of us ever know when we might need the services of an ordinary ambulance, or even the Wiltshire Air Ambulance to get us to hospital quickly. 

Mrs. HCB has just read this out to me from Twitter : “Wiltshire Air Ambulance undertook 1,238 missions in 2020 – a record number... Wiltshire Air Ambulance is a charity and receives no regular direct funding from the Government or National Lottery grants. Each year the charity needs to raise £3.75 million to continue flying and saving lives.”

I was also very surprised to learn that it costs £10,000 - that’s a lot of money - every day to keep the Wiltshire Air Ambulance helicopter flying so they have to rely on donations from kind people and thank goodness that people do give. 

Hope you all keep well, stay safe and stay indoors. 

Love from JH Ted xx 

PS The really silly thing today is that if you don’t live in Wiltshire, your Air Ambulance won’t be the same one that Mr. & Mrs. HCB support, but I am sure there will be one near you if you wanted to help them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.