DERELICT SUNDAY

After watching a very good Church service online, we decided to go out for a drive.  The sun was shining, but sadly it didn’t stay out for long and the sky turned quite grey and cloudy - typical for English skies at this time of year. 

Undeterred, we carried on, but decided after sometime that the Hungerford area was not good for dereliction.  We did find some broken down walls, but they weren’t quite what I wanted.  We decided to drive on home and I said I would find something in the garden, but then we turned a corner, along a muddy little lane on the road to Inkpen and found some derelict tree trunks.  

Just by my side of the car was a very muddy patch, so I had to take this shot from inside the car, as I had decent shoes on, but I was glad I had my selfie stick with me, so was able to extend it and point it towards the tree trunks.

It was good meandering along roads we had never been down before, and as we drove, we were thankful that there were a couple of decent programmes on Radio 4.  We were also grateful to see lots of Red Kites hovering above us - in fact, we saw about a dozen in total.  

When we got home and I looked at the shots on the computer, I decided to turn this one into a mono shot and think it looks better.  I’m not sure we will be going in this direction looking for dereliction again, but as Mr. HCB would say, “It gave the car a run out” and we did have an enjoyable time together.

“Humans are the only creatures 
     in this world, who cut trees, 
          make paper from them, 
               and then write, 
’SAVE TREES’ on it.”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.