SCHOOL OUTSIDE

I know I’ve said it before, and I have no doubt I will say it again, but I went out looking for one thing to blip and came back, having blipped another.

After a couple of days inside and having spent a lot of the day in bed yesterday - and thank you all so much for your good wishes and kind comments for my abstract blip - I decided that I had to get out for a walk, even if only a short one.  Mr. HCB had planned to go in the garden, but I am quite happy walking on my own, so once again, kitted up in my warm walking garb, off I went.  

I thought my field would be too wet, so once again, stuck to walking on the pavements and eventually found some tiny narcissus in a garden, so spent a little while taking shots of them.  I then walked back and decided to go and look around the outside of our fence because a lot of dog walkers come quite near - and I just wanted to check there was no rubbish about.

As I crossed the road, I saw a Mum and her two children walking along, so waited until they had passed before I went up onto the grass bank.  I could see the children had clipboards in their hands and were writing something, so after I had looked around, I walked back down the bank and was about 8 or 10 feet behind them.  

I said to the Mum, “Is this school outside then?” to which she replied that it was and then the little boy told me that they were looking for circles, squares, rectangles, hexagons and triangles.  I asked if this was actual school work, but Mum told me that it wasn’t but that she had found this for herself.  I said it was lovely to see them enjoying being out together and that she should enjoy them while they were young - to which she said that she was loving spending this time with her children.  I said I admired her for getting outside with her children and embracing learning together and hope it encouraged her to hear those words.

So instead of a Flower Friday shot, here are this little family enjoying school outside - I’m sure there will be plenty of flowers for another Friday!

“The best education does not happen
     at a desk but rather engaged in
          everyday living -
               hands on, exploring, 
                    in an active relationship.”
Vince Gowman

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.