Didn't We Shine

My husband and I had some errands in town. And there was a thing we needed to do that I was dreading, to be honest: dropping Dexter's leftover food and cat treats off at a local pet rescue operation.

So we did all of our other errands and we saved that one for last. I have to admit that after I dropped the items off, I cried. Again. Dexter loved his food, and he looked forward to eating. I couldn't believe I was giving his things away, but he does not need them anymore.

So my husband and I talked about The Hard Things in Life. About old pets, and old parents, and old houses, and old cars. And about how hard some things in life can be, but how you just can't give up and roll over and die, because SOMEbody has to be the strong one; somebody has to take care of The Hard Stuff.

And then we stopped and did a little hike, and the fresh air did us good, and the sweet breezes touched my cheek, and they dried away my tears. This photo was taken at the rusty bridge and spillway along Spring Creek that I have photographed for these pages so often. (See here, here, and here.)

The water was flowing, and it whispered of peace, and healing, and the reflections were very fine indeed. And the sun came and went. And we remembered the good times when we were all together and happy. Oh yes, all of the good times, for there were many. When we COULD, didn't we shine?

The soundtrack is this one: Waylon Jennings, with Didn't We Shine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.