JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Editing day

It's been slushy and a bit grey outside for much of the day.  The crunch and shine have definitely gone off the snow, though the park's still been full of hopeful parents and small children, slithering around on a mix of snow, ice and mud (nice!)

So I've taken the opportunity to go through my images of the dairy in North Oxfordshire which was Josh's business until recently.  I'd made headway a while ago with selecting a set to form a photobook for him, Ruth and the kids to have as a record. Then I left it aside for a while, as I felt I was losing all perspective on what would work well and what wouldn't.

However, my old friend in the US (Barbara) has helpfully offered to look at the final selection and give me some feedback.  She'll come to it fresh, with no direct knowledge of Josh or the dairy itself.  So I'm hoping to finalise it in the next few days, and get it sent off for printing.

So I've been looking at photos of cows - a lot of cows! Josh's cows were, in fact, very beautiful: an organically-managed herd, kept in a low-intensity manner.   Taking their photos, outside, was the easy part. It was much more difficult inside the milking parlour and the dairy itself, where space was restricted and light was ultra-bright in some places and very low in others.  But all in all: a project I have loved working on, and now need to put to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.