99

This is a famous British icon. Low quality foamed ice-cream, in a cheap tasteless cone, with a fragment of a Cadbury's Flake stuck into it. When I was a child they were made from real ice-cream, had a full length Flake and usually had raspberry sauce as well. I don't remember decent cone's until I visited France and discovered that the cones I'd had before were little better than cardboard. It's rather silly today, as it's bitter cold and definitely not ice-cream weather!

This stamp was issued in 2007, as part of the sea-side series. I must admit that while a low quality, high cost ice-cream isn't top of my list, I do rather like a good sand castle...!

Why it's called a 99 is not known, but as Wikipedia says there are plenty of theories!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.