Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Happy grandsons, having fun! No I didn't go to see them in Wales, much as I wish I were able to, that pleasure must wait. But I hadn't taken any photos, and then my daughter sent me this one and lots of others - blip sorted.

Earlier, as I was going for my walk, I saw my new neighbours in their front garden, so I introduced myself and we had a chat. They seem nice but may not be my neighbours for long as they're into property development and so will sell it on... although I do wonder how much they'll make on it. Unfortunately they haven't been there long enough for the Land Registry to have released the purchase price... not that I'm curious or anything!

Then I bumped into the ex-chairman of Skyline MC in the local Tesco, which was nice because I haven't seen him in ages, and later my son and partner came round for their dinner. So three conversations today, that's good.

Something that I haven't mentioned before is that rain gets into my garage... but I've worked out why and have sorted it I hope, temporarily at least. So, my garage guttering downpipe sent water at ground level onto hardcore at the side of the garage. Due to my ignorance I cut the downpipe to send the rain into a waterbutt... which quickly filled and then overflowed, allowing water to seep between the concrete sections of the garage. So I've emptied the butt, rejoined the downpipe sections, made sure the water drains onto the hardcore and will think further about the position of the waterbutt going forward. 

Today I swept the standing water out of the garage and down the drive, but in this weather it'll take a while to dry. Eventually, whenever that is, I'll think about directing the water to the drain not far in front of the garage, likely when I have the drive resurfaced, but it's a wait and see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.