If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Fire pit ice.

For a few days we have had hard frost with -9°C recorded as the minimum in the garden.  Yesterday to go for my dental checkup I had to get 4 cm of hard frozen snow off the car.   The doors were frozen shut but mercifully the locks worked.  I managed to get the back door open and turn the engine on over the seats, eventually it warmed enough to let me in.

So what has all that to do with today's blip I hear you ask.  Well over night we had a rapid thaw.  When I looked out there was an interesting sight on the fire pit.  There is a smooth stainless steel cover on the firepit and a thin layer of ice remained on it.   Something had caused the ice to move.  I assume there was a thin layer of water underneath to facilitate the move.   Around 15 - 18 cm of ice was protruding over the edge and unsupported.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.