First Garden Picnic of 2021!

After all our rain of recent days it was wonderful to get some beautiful sunshine today! Actually, I woke up very early to a very thin layer of snow this morning. It was beautiful even in the dark! The rain pretty much washed it away by sunrise - some may not even realise we had snow this morning!

The rain eventually stopped and the clouds cleared to reveal that there really WAS blue sky up there!

I’ve been making soups like crazy with the soup maker I got a few weeks ago but I knew all those containers in my freezer would come in useful! I found out yesterday that a good friend has been very sick with Covid for a month and thankfully is now slowly recovering. I drove over to take her 3 different containers of soup and half the sourdough loaf of bread I bought on Thursday, which I’d frozen immediately.

I was going to go for a walk on my way home but I could see there were LOTS of people out enjoying our sudden sunshine, so I decided to stay home and enjoy the garden instead. I took out a cup of tea and enjoyed the view (bottom left). Look at that blue sky behind me!

I found a few things that needed doing in the garden, including clearing leaves in the gutter along the garage which I realised was causing an overflow that was leaking into the garage. I was looking for outdoor jobs as I wanted to enjoy the sunshine as long as we had it.

I had started a soup in the soup maker when I got home (broccoli Stilton) so I decided to eat my very late lunch outside as I really didn’t want to go indoors! I had the last of the sourdough with it.

The hellebore was discovered hiding behind a bush at the back of my garden next to the shed. I think I blipped it last year. I really SHOULD move it as I love hellebores, especially this colour, but it’s completely hidden away! Such a shame.

I finally went for a walk but not until just before bedtime. 45 minutes around the village, discovering more little streets I never knew were there! At least there were very few people around!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.