In Memory

I was at the lake again today for my daily walk. I actually walked around TWO lakes again - much the same walk as just over a week ago, but with less fog! But - we’ve had lots of rain this week and so the paths were SO muddy - I’m probably going to avoid the second lake for awhile.

Today’s walk was a little bit different. A friend of mine from MANY years ago passed away this last week after suffering a heart attack. John was a popular school teacher and church leader in Glasgow. He was known for many things, but one was his personal fitness and his love of ‘ultra running’. His friends and family suggested that those who loved him could do a run or walk today - in his memory. Some of his running friends I’m sure will have done many many miles. I am neither a runner or a long distance walker, but I set off today on this walk in memory of John. I have not seen him in many many years and have never met his family, but we were students together in the early 80s and he was full of enthusiasm and wisdom and always had a great big smile on his face. I enjoyed dipping into his Facebook page in recent years and was always in awe of his ultra running. I thought of him as I trudged through the mud and tried to stay upright. It probably wouldn’t have fazed him at all!

I’m praying for peace and comfort for his family as well as for his close friends, colleagues and his students. It will have come as a great shock to everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.