pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Circles

I watched One Night In Miami today, a great film based on a play about an imagined conversation between Cassius Clay (as he still was at that point), Sam Cooke, Jim Brown and Malcolm X.

There is a moment early on in the film in a scene between a seemingly benevolent Beau Bridges and Aldis Hodge’s Jim Brown, where you sense that there is a sting in the tail to their conversation. There is an undercurrent through the whole scene that is so insidious, that the longer it goes on, you fall into the trap of thinking that maybe the sting won’t come after all, which of course, makes it all the more jaw dropping when it does.

It’s definitely worth a watch and it stayed with me as I went for a walk with Sam Cooke playing in my ears. A walk up to the castle was made all the more enjoyable for both bumping into and having an impromptu cuddle with the wee ones who were out on their bikes, and for the strains of ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’ washing over me. 

I lost the late afternoon and evening to the incredible ‘I May Destroy You’, which really takes you through the wringer. I won’t say too much about it, beyond the fact that it’s a tough but compelling watch and will also stay with me for some time to come.

Today’s photo of a tree stump is brought to you courtesy of the school of nailed-on metaphors illustrating the feeling of running in endless circles!

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.