pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Packameus: God of Birds

I have had to secure special permission to post the subject matter of today’s blip.

Following on from last week’s homework to design a mythical beast, this week Owen had to invent his own Greek god. Focusing on his love of birds and admiration of naturalist; Chris Packham, he came up with ‘Packameus: God of Birds’.

This was his picture of said God, which really makes me giggle. The things in his hands are spears and he’s not wearing much because “it was hot back then in Ancient Greece”.

Despite being incredibly busy with work (Supreme Court stuff playing through), it was so nice having the children back here. I must confess to being a little lost and purposeless without them at present. They have been absolutely brilliant and played beautifully together today.

I tried to break the vacuous tedium over the weekend with an ill-advised, but mercifully short-lived foray onto a dating app. It is of course entirely pointless WHEN YOU CAN’T MEET ANYONE ANYWAY and is a self-inflicted, soul-destroying use of my free time (even when comparing profiles with a friend of the opposite sex - one woman had posted a photo of a duck as her profile pic. Yep, a duck. I don’t know what to do with that), so I redressed the balance and ordered The Autobiography of Malcolm X to find a more positive and challenging way to feed my mind. It arrived today and already I’m hooked.

I’m not a religious man myself, but there is definitely something in the saying that “the devil makes work for idle hands”. To avoid his clutches, I shall return to my survival blueprint of writing (I’ve found that Miles Davis is a very nice accompaniment to this), a dabble with the piano (‘Danny Boy’ presently) and exercise as and when the opportunity arises.

When the world re-opens, I’ll see what happens, but for now I need to get a grip and face facts that as a bald, 40-somethingorother man with three children and two marriages behind me, I am no Packameus!

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.