Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Spice Up Your Life

The time had come to spice up my life again. I have a favourite curry recipe from an old Part Works from the 70s, Supercook. I used to get out the necessary jars and add parts of a teaspoon of each of the ingredients to my pan. I've included the very stained page from the book in my composition. I was using this recipe most weeks over recent years.

I hit upon the idea of working out a common denominator, hence the notes on the back of an envelope. I found that if I scaled up 3 teaspoons to equal 1 bottle, I could make a mix up using full and part bottles. Now all I have to do is put 2 tablespoons of my mix into the curry pan. Sorted!

From my first blip of this procedure I can see that the jar has lasted 2 years. That has saved a lot of faffing each week and has stayed within the Use By dates on the spices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.