HOSPITAL WRISTBAND

Today didn't quite turn out as I had planned.

Recently I have been suffering from swelling of both legs and feet. I just thought it was temporary and would go away.  But as it hadn't  - and there were areas which were painful to touch  - I decided to phone my GP surgery this morning.  Around 9am I spoke to a receptionist and then at 10am I had a phone appointment with a GP. After telling her my symptoms she said I needed to come in and see her.  So I got a face to face  appointment for 3.10pm.

I had assumed she would be able to sort me out and then I would do some shopping in Tesco and come home.  But after checking my legs she got worried in case the problem was DVT (Deep Vein Thrombosis) or a heart problem - so she said I had to go to hospital.  She phoned the Queen Elizabeth Hospital and they said it was OK for me to go. The GP also said I might have cellulitis ( skin infection ) so she prescribed antibiotics.  She said she would send prescription through to the local chemist for me to collect.

So off I went to get my antibiotics.  Chemist didn't have the prescription.  So I waited, and waited.  It never turned up so they said to come back tomorrow.  So that was a waste of time.

Then I went to get the bus to the hospital,  There would be a long wait for the direct bus ( only runs once an hour ) so I got a bus to Gateshead and then another bus to the hospital.  Finally arrived at the Ambulatory Care Centre at 5.30pm.  More waiting as the place was quite busy. While I was waiting I took a call from the GP who said she was sorry but she had forgotten to send the prescription for antibiotics to the chemists but she has done it now .

Then I saw a nice friendly (cat loving ) nurse.  She dismissed the DVT theory as if that was the problem then probably only one leg would be swollen.  She took blood which was sent off for testing  (results were back within an hour )  It could be a heart problem  - so I was sent for a chest X Ray.  To my surprise a wheelchair and porter turned up and I was wheeled ( quickly ) through corridor after corridor until we finally reached the X Ray Dept.  More waiting.  X ray itself took minutes.  Then more waiting till a porter came to take me back to Ambulatory Care.  More waiting to see a doctor.

Blood results were back.... all fine.  No kidney or liver problems.  X Ray --- fine.  No heart problems.  No cellulitis or infection so I didn't need antibiotics after all. So why were my legs and ankles swollen and painful?.  The diagnosis was that it was a side effect of one of my blood pressure tablets.  I haven't been taking these tablets for very long and they seem to have many side effects including  -  Fluid Retention In The Legs and Feet ( as well as fatigue and itching ) .  So I have to stop taking those tablets.  And monitor my blood pressure as if it goes high I will need to see my GP about new medication.

I finally exited the hospital at around 8.10pm.  I had already messaged Neil to ask if he and Rachael could come and pick me up and they arrived around 8.25pm.  I was glad to get back home after a very strange day.  First thing I did was remove my shoes and socks as they were soaking wet.  They got wet when I walked to the doctors surgery this afternoon as we have had heavy rain all day.  So I had to sit round with wet socks on and left wet patches on the hospital floor whenever I took my shoes off.

So alls well that ends well as they say.  Hopefully after a few days of not taking those tablets my legs and feet will return to normal. Fingers crossed.

Extra shows the Ambulatory Care Unit and the X Ray Dept.

For Tiny Tuesday I have blipped part of my hospital wristband.  Thanks to loisbiz for hosting.
 
Musical link  HOSPITAL- by Counting Crows

Apart from all the above I haven't done much else except have an evening meal when I got in and watch Junior Bake Off.   Ready for an early night so I will have to catch up with comments tomorrow.  Im way behind.

(Apologies for this long blip but I wanted to put everything on record )

Steps today - 8,819

CORONA CLASSIC - The Last of the Mohicans - played by Doruk Vijdan ( cello )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.