CHURCH CHARE

First of all thanks for all the lovely comments on yesterdays blip.  My legs/feet have been much the same today but I'm hopeful of some improvement soon.  I'm still feeling very weary and feel the need for a nap now and again.

The weather was bad again today - constant rain the whole day.  But as I didn't get any shopping yesterday I needed to go to the village today.  Apart from food shopping I wanted to get a blip shot.

The Wide Wednesday theme is " Local Photo " .  Thanks to BobsBlips  for hosting. Not much choice here in the village especially as I have blipped most of the usual local " best bits " before.  But here is Church Chare.  This is an area near to St Marys Church with a lot of old houses which were once owned by the church. The Church and The Rectory are behind me as I took my photo. The building in the thumbnail is St Marys Centre and before the pandemic this was a well used building where various groups would meet every day.  Its where I used to go for my Fitness Class and Slimming Group.  Nothing happening in there at the moment as its been closed since last March.

The building with the scaffolding around it was originally a coach house and over the years has had various uses including a garage, dance hall, skating rink, cinema, bingo hall and more recently a cafe and gym.  I remember it as a cinema and my brother and I spent many happy Saturday mornings there watching cartoons and Westerns.  At the moment its being renovated and will become residential flats. I was looking through one of my local history books and found a drawing showing Church Chare as it was in 1890.  I have added this as an Extra.

Musical link - The Lone Ranger 1949 - 1957 

Got back home in time to watch the Inauguration of Joe Biden as the new President of America.  Must admit I shed a few tears.  Such a momentous occasion.  And I was so relieved that it all went smoothly without any trouble. Good luck Joe and Kamala.

Steps today - 8,262

CORONA CLASSIC - Air and Simple Gifts - written by John Williams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.