Strange Doings on the Deck

We had a bit of snow on this day. In fact, we get a little snow almost every day lately. Clearly, it's winter. And so my husband went out and cleared the drive way and then he headed for the deck.

His little friend, the little gray kitty, or LGK, followed him around the yard and up onto the deck. As I looked out, there was my husband shoveling, and the cat running back and forth on the deck like a crazy kitten.

I grabbed my camera to try to get some photos of that silly cat. And as I was snapping away, trying to get something worthwhile, this strange scene happened.

Now, I don't know if it was gang symbols they were flashing, or if they were recreating that famous moment in Michelangelo's painting of The Creation of Adam, where the hands reach out and almost touch. . . .

But there was a human hand reaching down, and a feline paw reaching up - pink toepads visible on a white paw - and here is that moment, preserved for all eternity!!!  :-)

I typically pick a song to go with my images. Usually, the songs are related in subject. But on this occasion, I'm simply picking a song that happened on this day.

As you may have heard, there were big doings in Washington, D.C., on this day. And there were musical performances, and my man, The Boss, opened things up with this song, which is a favorite tune of his: Land of Hope and Dreams. It is special to me, as it served as the soundtrack to several railroad trips to visit my sister.

Today's version is a spare, wistful, one-man-with-a-guitar sort of rendition. I'm also including the live Madison Square Garden performance from the year 2000, which is one of the best live versions of any song, anywhere, anytime, ever.

Tomorrow there'll be sunshine
And all this darkness past
Big wheels roll through fields
Where sunlight streams
Meet me in a land of hope and dreams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.