More snow

When I peeped though the curtains at 2 am it was snowing steadily so I popped back to bad happy to anticipate a day slonked on the sofa reading and learning crochet.

So I was surprised to see at 7am the snow was thawing fast. When the sunny came out we decided to go out. We headed up Pennystane Lane but by the time we got to Gimmerknowes* the wind was bitter and it started to sleet. Going down Physic Lane was muddy as the cattle must have sheltered by the whins during the night. We headed back across the field which had 3 alpacas in it, to Westhills and home. 3.5 miles.

On the street we met our neighbour and her daughter who had come from the south to keep her company. Tom is doing well and being moved to a smaller hospital. Of course the can’t visit. He can feel his legs but can’t walk yet. We also met Shona and Rob heading off. It’s nice to meet people by accident and have a chat.

After I made Dahl for tonight I concentrated on my crochet. I’d got a bit confused yesterday as the YouTube I watched was from the US and they have different names for the stitches.

What a relief to have Biden sworn in at last.

*gimmer is a ewe that’s had its first lamb. I’m not sure if it is purely a Scottish and northern English word.
Knowe is a Scottish and Northumbrian word for knoll.
The farm is on a knoll but there were no gimmers in the field. (They have bees and llamas.).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.