Hopefulness

After the heavy continuing downpour of the last two days, it has calmed down a bit today. But there are lots of new ponds and lakes in the fields. Soggy everywhere.

I have been carrying an ear worm since yesterday. Sorting out our online food shopping delivery I was listening to Radio 4 and a great Feargal Keane documentary on the complicated history of Britain’s relationship with Ireland and the Irish. With some great music. I had never realised that one of my favourite hymn tunes - “Lord of all Hopefulness” - was taken from a Gaelic song “Slane”, with new words ( in English) written in 1931. So after some Googling, I am now listening to - and humming - versions of the original.

Obviously a coincidence that the new US president is very proud of his Irish heritage. It will be interesting to see how he views the UK and it’s present government.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.