A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Into The Woods

I write so often about the woods near our home and the creek below it, it seemed like the perfect day to show my blip friends what it looks like. It’s sunny today but quite chilly with a biting wind. Since I was bundled up from feeding the birds and other critters I thought I’d grab a shot of the “gully”. It’s a reference we learned from the locals when we moved here 20 years ago. Living at the bottom of two hills many residents have childhood memories of sledding down one hill to only climb up the other. Obviously that no longer occurs. Too many cars on the road now and most speed past no matter the weather • I’ll leave you with the opening lines of Mary Oliver’s poem “How I Go To The Woods”:

Ordinarily, I go to the woods alone, with not a single friend, for they are all smilers and talkers and therefore unsuitable.

I don’t really want to be witnessed talking to the catbirds or hugging the old black oak tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.