A Very Cold Morning

It was below freezing this morning - 29F - with a heavy frost coating the world. It almost looked like it had snowed! After a cup of tea I mustered myself and my camera and hobbled along out to the front garden to take some frosty shots. The sun (by that time...it was past 10 am) had just started hitting the edges of the garden, but not for long enough to melt the frost. 

A little fairy land of frosted moss sparkled in the sunlight, and the clump of crocus that I wanted to shoot yesterday was shrouded in crystals. I so love the transformations that frost has on plants - we so rarely have frost that I didn't care that my crutches slowed me down. 

It was just a stunning day and I was so happy to spend some time outdoors. Our landscaper came by - they take care of the grass and leaves - I'm having him help me transform a small patch in my backyard into a couple of cedar raised beds for veggies. I used to have a backyard full of raised beds, but it was too much work. This will be perfect...so close to the house (adjacent to the deck) and just the right size - two 6' x 2' x 18" high beds. I can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.