Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Not talking to myself, again

The BBC goodfood recipe told me to dry-fry 2 teaspoons of cumin seeds and a pinch of chilli flakes for 1 minute or until they start to jump around the pan and release their aromas.
But when I did this I started to cough.
Instinct told me to open the windows, but they are all sealed with bubble-wrap, pinned and taped to the frames, so I Googled instead.
Healthline.com told me that;-
 “Generally speaking, Teflon is a safe and stable compound.
However, at temperatures above 570°F (300°C), Teflon coatings on nonstick cookware start to break down, releasing toxic chemicals into the air
Don’t preheat an empty pan: Empty pans can reach high temperatures within minutes, potentially causing the release of polymer fumes. Make sure you have some food or liquid in pots and pans before you preheat
Avoid cooking on high heat: Cook on medium or low heat and avoid broiling, since this cooking technique requires temperatures above those recommended for nonstick cookware.
Ventilate your kitchen: When you’re cooking, turn on your exhaust fan or open up windows to help clear any fumes”
So why did the BBC not include a Teflon warning in their instructions?
The kitchen fan in my flat is only recirc, not extract, so I opened the door to the bathroom, turned on the bathroom light to trigger the extract fan and went out for an hour. Of course the bathroom fan is only extracting into the former pigeon loft above and supply air can enter only under the front door via the communal staircase, but I hoped it was better than nothing.
While I was out I spotted this break-out space. I imagine it is a lovely escape from a kitchen in better weather.
Back home and my Leon “Happy One-Pot Cooking” book in its “Love Your Pots & Pans” section tells me to “Slowly heat the pan first, then add fat.” Again, no Teflon warning.
Why was it necessary to Google that and why is there not a warning on both the pans as well as the instructions? 
I thought risk-assessments had taken over the planet, but apparently some rather large holes still exist.
Surely at my age I should know this shit?
I'm drowning in overwhelming feelings of inadequacy.
Teach yourself to cook at 60 indeed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.