A day in the life

By Shelling

Mist

I woke up this morning to a thick, enclosing mist that turns the world into a place of dampened silence.
Theres also a special quality of light, everything close by seems to have the same amount of light and use about the same narrow spectrum of colors. I feel like I'm the centre of the world while everything else fades in or out of my own personal space of a hundred something metres. During the afternoon the temperature was slowly diminishing, creating interesting and pretty layers of thin ice on grass and small twigs. I took a walk through The Grove and out on Alvaret at around three o'clock. No one else seems to be out on this Sunday, so it's a more special experience than normally, having a walk. There's so much water in The Grove, the paths are completely flooded in many places and I should have worn my wellies in stead of my walking boots. It's not very cold and there's hardly any wind so I had a really nice time out there. 
Yoga and a nice fire welcomed me home, or rather, I welcomed myself with those things.   

HarlingDarling sent me an article in The Guardian on how us humans suffer when we can't touch each other, let alone give someone a hug. For those of us who likes hugs but live on our own or for other reasons aren't within touching distance, this I think, is a big health problem, affecting many parts of our lives on a daily basis and many get depressed or even physically ill. I feel lucky because I have friends at least, just knowing that, helps me a lot I think and self suggestion can help a bit too, trying to over emphasise the positive sides of what ever passes my way during the day. Much can be said about this subject but let's hope the turning point might be within sight. 
But, until then -hugs are missed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.