A day in the life

By Shelling

Ponderpond

Often, when I take a walk it's as much for a gathering of thoughts as it is a need for fresh air and exercise. After my last day of emptying my old house, hopefully, 
I took a short walk around The Pond close to where I used to live. The pond is a L-shaped, man made construction, mainly for irrigation. It's also an ever changing scene of beauty and a place where thoughts can fly a little freer. Today I was pondering my feelings around leaving my old house and the conflicting thoughts about what a place can do to a person. Every time I've moved from somewhere, I've had a long period of emotional bounds to go through and it takes me a rather long time to settle into the new place. This move seems to follow that pattern but I feel a connection to my new place and "my old surroundings" are fairly close, so I won't miss them much, they are easily accessible from my new home. 
I feel this move will be smooth and leaving the old place won't be as hard as anticipated. Seeing the empty rooms, now gives me a feeling of a closed chapter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.