JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 24: darning

Cold, dreary and windy with sleety rain - a day for staying in. These are more of the things I still use from my great aunt's work basket. I've no idea how old the darning mushroom is; she was born in 1895. It has the smooth sheen of something which has been handled for a very long time. Two of the cards of wool are from the early 1970s because they are priced in "new" pence following decimalisation in 1971, and labelled in metres as well as yards - they were in the basket when I inherited it in 1974, along with many more cards of wool in marginally different shades which I've gradually used over the years. Winfield was Woolworth's own brand. I'm not very good at darning, and don't do a lot, but it gives me great satisfaction. I was fourteen when Aunty Maggie died. She would be astonished to know that in 2021 I'm still using up her surplus darning wool - I'm clearly not alone in hoarding supplies well beyond my life expectancy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.