A bemused female bullfinch in the snow

I went out to do my duty for the birds this morning, topping up feeders and laying out foods in places that don't usually get such treats. By 9am I was back inside making coffee but then I thought I'd drink it out in the cabin with the door open and a camera round my neck.

A range of birds came calling including the blackcaps, goldfinches, robins, chaffinches, blackbirds, blue tits, long-tailed tits, coal tits and the ubiquitous magpies and pigeons. But this somewhat bemused looking female bullfinch was the most appealing stuck with its mouth full of half chewed sunflowers seeds and preparing for a flight which happened a second or two later. 

I'm glad I filmed early as by lunchtime a thaw had set in and the scene wasn't half as pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.