Sally and Lin at the Chapels of Rest

I arranged to meet a friend at the Chapels of Rest on the cemetery which is close to our house. I needed to swap something with Pammy which might be a voluntary work opportunity for Helena.

After a chat with Pammy I was standing taking pictures of the Golden Valley, which is in the opposite direction from where I stood to take this picture. I was intrigued because whilst waiting for Pammy to arrive, I'd used a small snowman as a foreground feature of a couple of snowy landscape pictures, which had been built just behind me.

After Pammy left a few minutes later, I went back to my original position to take a another picture as the sun's position had changed. Something seemed wrong to me. then I realised that the three foot high snowman had completely disappeared. I had had my back turned or was talking for just a few minutes, and noticed people pass by, but had no sense of the snowman leaving! I have the pictures and their times to prove this! Perhaps it is a poltergeist at the cemetery!

Just as I was trying to work out what might have happened, Sally walked up to the Chapels with her friend Lin. We had a quick chat and I asked how they knew each other. It turns out that they went to school together further up the valley at Eastcombe and had been close ]ever since. Sally and her two brothers own the Stancombe Beech Farm shop which  I always go to in Bisley and farm the land. Their family are locally renowned and very well liked. They have let me take photographs all over the farm for many years and sell some of my cards in the shop. I suggested I take a picture of the two friends so that they can each have printed copies of  their friend. I like that sort of thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.