Brotographer

By Brotographer

90% Sure

Angsty life-decision-making-diary-type ramblings and won a competition! TLDR. Blipvolution.



90% sure, but who's to say I'm not gonna change my mind and go for it? All I need to do is fill out the forms and I can be off to Australia for an intercalated year in July. And ditch most of everything. Chances are I'll be looking back on this blip in a couple years and wondering why the hell I didn't go for it... or not? Time will tell, but I gotta say there's nothing I hate more than regretting. Here's to hoping I make the right decision.

This photo represents Uganda though, not Australia. As things are shaping up right now, this is the current idea for summer:

- exams finish in may
- start internship in June
- break it up with one week of Photosoc summer tour
- move in with Tom and Matt and finish internship in July
- either do some sailing instructing or train to be a windsurf instructor in August
- head to Uganda for 4 weeks with Ali and a couple others for an engineering project in September
- come back on the very last day of summer, for fourth year
- move in to the PhotoHouse, take up my role on exec of Photosoc and nail my degree

I'm really wondering how much of this, if any, will end up being the case. Except for exams, I know that one will happen.... unfortunately.
Couple of things. Part of me thinks I could have managed to achieve a 'better' internship, as in one more relevant towards my ideal career. Things have been quite busy lately though and I haven't been able to send out as many applications as I wanted, at least to the companies I want to most. Should I do like certain others and start isolating myself from social contact to get more productive work done? blaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Secondly, I really really want to start planning for Uganda, and have been thinking a lot about exams, tour, the internship, third year etc. It feels like Australia hasn't been on my mind whatsoever, except as a constant concept, confusing me. As things are looking, chances are I'm going to stay here for fourth year, it seems...
Thirdly, I can't be bothered to write anymore, I just thought it would be cool to share some of my thoughts with my future self, and whoever is interested enough to read this.


Oh, before I forget! I got third place in the Learning Photo Competition on "Freedom" with this photo! Earned myself a £30 Amazon voucher and canvas print, good stuff. Big up to Dave and Ali, who also submitted sick photos, and Conan who won the Judge's Choice photo.


Side note: photographers will appreciate how the little camera pictured is a Nikon, but with a Sony name. The lens also appears to be a 45-56/70-300GSSM. Hmm.... You'd think it would bug me, but I just find it funny! Thanks to Stana for getting me this awesome USB key.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.