An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Birthday continued...

The good thing about being stuck in my bedroom on my birthday last week is I get to have an extended celebration :-))

Alan's gift was an afternoon tea and once again, it was absolutely delicious!  

Hazel (the woman who produces the goods) delivered the food just before 12.30.  It was a tad early to be opening the Prosecco so we held off till 2pm.  Okay, 1.45pm...what's 15 minutes? ;-)) before setting out the pile of sandwiches, sausage rolls, mini quiche, scones with jam & cream, meringues, Malteser slice and lemon posset!  

We'd just sat down to start on the lovely sandwiches when the postman rang the doorbell (he only rang once :-)) and David re-appeared with a large padded envelop addressed to me.  Perfect timing!  

It was a painting of Lola painted for me for my birthday by my Goddaughter Emily.  I love it and I am so touched by the effort she's gone to.  What a talented young woman and what a special gift.  I will treasure it.

We did our best with the Afternoon Tea (I even skipped breakfast in anticipation) but were unable to finish it all so leftovers were carefully boxed up and put in the fridge to be enjoyed later.

I then took myself off to the dining room table my art space and made some cards for upcoming occasions, including some to send to Esme, Anna and Faith with their crocheted headbands.

Talking of crochet, the dishcloth is finished (including a little loop so it can be hung up to dry) and has been given to the lucky recipient (see extras).  You can see how DELIGHTED he was!  (Oscar nomination pending)    hahahahahahaha!

But then the strangest thing happened.  He used it (that's not the strange thing.  He's quite domesticated :-) and with a hint of incredulity announced "actually this is great!"  

Please excuse my  *****smug face*****

:-)))

P.S. Happy Birthday Rabbie.  
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.