Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Number Six

We finally had a little snow today, so I spent a couple of hours in the hide snapping shots and getting my geek on.  I was looking straight out in front of the hide when I heard a some chips that didn't sound familiar, which was when I discovered two lovely little American Tree Sparrows to my right.  They are among my favorite sparrows.  One of our smallest sparrows and easy to identify by their bi-colored beak, rufous cap, dark chest spot and distinct white wing bar.  I usually only see them in the yard when we have snow, so it wasn't a total surprise seeing them today. And they are now officially #6 on my Blip yardbirds list for 2021.  

The white/leucistic junco was also around, and finally blending in to his surroundings!  I tried, unsuccessfully, to get a shot of him on the snow but maybe another day.  One non-snow shot in Extra.

Hubs and I dropped his car off for service and then took my car into town to pick up another 40 pounds of sunflower seeds.  I am going through a crazy amount of seeds this year!

I am enjoying not reading about trump every day in the news - I can still feel the stress dropping away.  I don't think I fully realized how incredibly stressful his reign was to me personally.  

I'm planning to meet up with my birding friends tomorrow for a walk at the Refuge.  There may be some snow on the trail, but shouldn't be enough to be a problem.  

Be safe, be kind ... and , well, you know...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.