Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mono Monday - In Response

Thanks again to Picuremull for a very interesting challenge this week, using this image as inspiration.  When I looked at this I immediately had several ideas, all involving old buildings.  But the one that I liked the best was the old Abbey that has featured in so many of my derelict themed images.  I shot this in monotone and then shifted the color balance ever so slightly to give it just a hint of blueish tone, in a nod to Picuremull's image.  I would have loved to have done something with graffiti but living out in the country as I do, there isn't much in the way of graffiti around.  Old buildings, on the other hand, we have loads of.  

I had a lovely long chat with my parents this morning.  They are still waiting on the State of Oregon to provide some guidance as to how they can get vaccinated.  It's really frustrating. But they are keeping themselves busy walking, geo-caching and working a crazy number of jigsaw puzzles.  And staying away from any and all people.

Also chatted with a friend in Montana today - his wife had Covid last month but she has fully recovered now and no signs of lingering symptoms.  Fingers crossed.  

Hubs and SIL zoomed with MIL today and she seemed much better than yesterday, so we hope that the worst of the vax side effects are past.  It wasn't terrible, just that at 91 anything that isn't "normal" makes us anxious. And I guess feeling lethargic and tired for a day isn't so bad, all things considered.  In two weeks she will be considered to have as much immunity as she can get against the virus.

The leucistic/white junco was around this morning and this afternoon the big female Cooper's Hawk was also around.  So far, the two haven't met.  

You know the drill - stay safe, be kind and treat yourself to something yummy (I vote for chocolate, the darker the better.)

xo
Debbi

PS:  Also tagging this for Derelict Sunday, with thanks to Marlieske for continuing to keep the challenge going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.