Soul

Wednesday. The usual. 

I was at the farm shop at 09:00.

Things were different there. Tree surgeons had taken over most of the car parks and access road. I suppose this is a good time to get it done - midweek and mid-lockdown. I was the cafe’s only (takeaway) customer and there was only one other customer in the shop. 

After I had done my shopping I almost went straight home. It was 0.5ºc and wet, so a takeaway coffee in the open air was not a huge attraction. Then I remembered how much time I spend in the house now, and went for the coffee. The tree surgeons provided something to watch. The excitement of it all…

Once back home I made soup. Proper lockdown activity. It is cabbage and garlic from a new recipe I found. Delicious and very seasonal. I will call it Brexit soup from now on because no imported veggies are needed. Olive oil mind you…

The afternoon actually involved a bit of work. Tax return stuff plus something for the day job. One downside of not working for 3 days midweek  is that occasionally people return calls when you don’t want them to. 

In the evening I tried another new recipe. Alubias de Cantabria - bean stew. It is much more exotic than my lunch, so in future maybe I should only make it on Sundays and feast days. It was fantastic too - ideal January “restore the soul” food. 

The Blip is the cold, dreich view from my coffee spot outside the farm shop. To counterbalance, the Extra is my cosy Spanish dinner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.