A day in the life

By Shelling

Past and the future

A friend of mine, who plays the cello, was asked to play along an already recorded rock song. The composer said "I can hear a cello part in my head", and he wanted my friend to realise it, which he of course agreed to. Once he rehearsed it, he called me to get his part recorded, along with the original song. It happens like this: The rock-group is working on a song that is still in an early stage. All the music is recorded but with each instrument on a separate track. They sent me a quick mix of the recorded tracks that I can use as a background for my friend to listen to while he records his cello-part onto a separate track in my computer. That cello part file is then sent back to the rock group so they can add it to the rest of the instrument parts and later do some levelling and polishing of all the tracks before mixing them together into a stereo track, which then is going to be mastered (the final polishing stage) before it will be released, probably on  Spotify. All this is done without either me or my friend has met any of the other musicians. It will be exciting to hear the result.

On my walk this afternoon I went to the next village called Kalkstad, an ancient village that probably was the centre of a very rich area during our iron age, some 1500 years ago. Most of the street structure is still a living part of the village along with modern streets, farming and some new-built houses. As I like feeling that I'm part of past history, I like it here. The village has a confident stillness about it, having seen a lot over the years it's also well prepared for times to come. The main is from one of the "streets" connecting the various properties in the village. 

Going back home, I passed one of the nature reserves here and couldn't resist a picture of this lively brook holding the ice under control.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.