Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Abstract Motion Blur

Thanks to Ingeborg for providing my inspiration today with her Abstract Thursday theme of "motion."  I love doing motion-blur shots but usually prefer doing them in NYC where I can capture pedestrians in blur.  However, Covid makes going into NYC a non-starter so I decided to take a drive and see if something caught my eye.  

I drove into town and parked at a little mall next to the main drag and took some random shots of cars whizzing past - didn't like any of them.  Then I started looking at the retail stores on the opposite side of the highway which had potential.  I took a bunch of shots using panning to create the motion.  Some were dreadful but this one I liked with the faint hint of the American flag and a nice bright orange sign against a blue winter sky.  I cropped it and upped the saturation a bit in LR.

I still love photographing birds and wildlife more than anything else, but it is very fun to dabble outside of my usual lane.  

Tomorrow is going to be very cold with the high only getting to 21 F and wind gusts up to 30 mph.  With that in mind, I folded the hide up and wedged it into a spot where it won't blow away.  Remains to be seen if I'm brave enough to spend time outside tomorrow with the birds.  And if not, I'll find something indoors to photograph.  

I'm actually enjoying the news these days.  The absence of almost anything trump-related is such a relief.  There are certainly plenty of bad things going on in the world, but not waking up every morning to a trumpian twitter-storm makes the rest seem not quite as bad.  

Two more days until I turn the big 65; and three more days until the second and final (for now) Pfizer vax.  

Stay safe, be kind, stay connected.  And chocolate...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.