Snowy sheep

The farmer next door chose to put his sheep back in the field yesterday evening. Poor things must have been thrilled when it started snowing heavily! It snowed most of the night and this was taken from my kitchen window after it got light.  It could obviously see me taking the photo and it felt like it was posing for me. She had shaken most of the excess snow from her coat. You realise how thick their fleece is when you see snow piled on their backs unmelted. Extra shows a few more still resting a bit further down the bank. They will be really hacked off they they can't get at their beloved grass! We are supposed to be +5° tomorrow so they will have some rich pickings then. The farmer and his dog rounded them into the sheds not long after I took this, presumably to feed them, as they were back in the field later on.
I spent a few hours making a little something for a special lady today. I haven't blipped that as I don't want her to see it and spoil the surprise before it arrives to her, hopefully in one piece! She may want to blip it herself if it's still intact! If it's not she'll know it was the thought that counts and I have a photo just in case!
Mum thought she might be sent home today. The doctor rang me late in the day to say they were keeping her just a bit longer as her inflammatory markers were up just a little and they want to make sure she is clear of any infection of any sort before they send her home. Luckily mum wasn't too disappointed as she is being well looked after and she appreciates being better safe than sorry. She just wants her own bed! 
I walked down the hill to post the aforementioned 'little something' and saw more people, gathered at the post box,  in one outing than I have in at least six months! We had a socially distanced chat for just a few minutes but it really lifted my spirits. It was almost normal! It also really brought home the fact that we need interaction and to see people's smiling faces.
I threw some dinner together as it was suddenly time to eat, my stomach was rumbling. It turned out to be quite yummy and we both enjoyed it. 
I've been watching Junior Bake Off in the evenings for the last couple of weeks. Those youngsters are amazing and such fun to watch. Last night was macarons, something I've never made, but would now like to try. I'm sure my sugar levels won't like them but I think I'll chance it as a treat!
Life is not too bad, all things considered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.